Who am I?

Some plants I grew in Astoria.

Hai!

My name is Alex. I’m 31 years old. I was born in Lima, Peru and raised in NYC. I also lived in Philly for a few years. It rules.

I like going to shows, traveling/backpacking, doing yoga, eating & cooking plant based foods, camping, biking, reading, hiking and being outdoors when the weather is nice. I volunteer for causes I care about when I can and try my best to live a sustainable lifestyle.

My favorite band is the Disco Biscuits. I’ve seen them 202 times. So far. I also love Ween. My mom is Peruvian and my dad was German. I have two younger sisters named Romina and Isabella. They mean everything to me. I was raised bilingual, Spanish is my first language. I also speak a bit of Italian, but I’m rusty.

I’m starting this blog, because my boyfriend Keith and I are currently driving from Midtown Manhattan to Costa Rica. I’d also like to keep my friends and family updated and hope to serve as a resource for anyone else who might be attempting a trip of this caliber. I know I’m not the first person to make this journey, but I’m pretty sure I’m one of very few attempting it during COVID, which I think adds an interesting layer and is a story worth sharing.

I’ve been to 26 countries so far and if we make it through this trip that list will grow to 30 🙂

I travel because I think it’s important to live outside of your bubble and comfort zone. I personally believe it’s important to understand the walks of life others come from, because when it comes down to it we are all the same we just have different experiences. Most people are out there doing the best they can with what they’ve been presented. The world is a collective of multiple realities not just our own. Exploring other cultures and countries allows me to see the world from different perspectives and I am eternally grateful for that ability.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s